© 2019 by the Boyer Group.

The team

Staff

Cyrille heads the Boyer lab at UNSW and is also co-director of the Australian Centre for Nanomedcine and a member of the Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design. He has received numerous awards for his work in polymerisation, including  UNSW Research Excellence Award, Prime Minister Prize for Science (Malcolm MacIntosh Prize) and  ACS Biomacromolecules/Macromolecules Young Investigator Award. Cyrille’s research interests cover the use of photoredox catalysts to perform living radical polymerisation, hybrid organic–inorganic nanoparticles for imaging, nanomedicine and energy storage. Cyrille has published over 250 research articles, including eight patents, which have gathered over 11000 citations.
HomePage     Google Scholar     Email: cboyer@unsw.edu.au

Professor

Prof Cyrille Boyer

Edgar is a multidisciplinary researcher whose work spans across several disciplines including synthetic (polymer) chemistry, materials science, (micro)biology and nanotechnology. His focus is now on generating materials for antimicrobial and anticancer applications.

Google Scholar       Email: edgar.wong@unsw.edu.au

Junior Group Leader - Vice-Chancellor’s Research Fellow

Dr Edgar Wong

Susan joined the Boyer Group after many years in industry. Her work focuses on developing functional polymeric materials and nanoparticles from natural products for antimicrobial, anticancer and advanced materials applications. She leads the team developing fire retardant polymeric materials.

Google Scholar       Email: susan.oliver@unsw.edu.au

Team Leader FSI Project / Senior Research Fellow

Dr Susan Oliver

Photo-flow polymerisation systems

Photoredox catalysis

Photopolymerisation

Google Scholar      Email: n.corrigan@unsw.edu.au

Post Doc

Dr Nathaniel Corrigan

Photopolymerisation in miniemulsion

Photoredox catalysis

Google Scholar      Email: kenward.jung@student.unsw.edu.au

Postdoctural Writing Fellowship

Dr Kenward Jung

Photo-PISA

Photopolymerisation

High-throughput photopolymerisation

Google Scholar     Email: jonathan.yeow@unsw.edu.au

Post Doc

Dr Jonathan Yeow

Winny is a research associate working on the development of fire retardant coating materials. Her research interests include membrane fabrication for gas  separation and water applications, thin film coatings, and material characterisations.

Email: winny.fam@unsw.edu.au

Research Associate

Dr Winny Fam

Lei is a research associate working on the development of fire-retardant polymers. His research interests include the preparation and application of stimuli-responsive polymers, anti-smudge coatings and emulsion templated polymeric products. 

Google Scholar      Email: lei.lei@unsw.edu.au

Research Associate

Dr Lei Lei

Photoredox catalysis

Photopolymerisation

Email: m.ciftci@unsw.edu.au

Post Doc

Dr Mustafa Ciftci

Ka Wai is a research associate with strong interest in industry topics. He is currently developing fire retardant system for polymer composite used in real-life products. Prior to this role, Ka Wai has built his research experience from topics that focus on the use of aqueous chemistry. He is particularly interested in the application of polydopamine and its analogues in functional coating and nanocapsule fabrication, as well as silica-based microencapsulation technology. 

Email: kawai.fan@unsw.edu.au

Research Associate

Dr Ka Wai Fan

Graduate research students

If you are interested in pursuing a graduate research degree with the Boyer Lab, please contact Prof Cyrille Boyer. Email: cboyer@unsw.edu.au

Drug delivery

Antimicrobial nanoparticles

Google Scholar       Email: z.sadrearhami@unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Zahra Sadrearhami

Antimicrobial polymers

Google Scholar       Email: r.namivandizangeneh@unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Rashin Zangeneh

Antimicrobial polymers

Email: p.judzewitsch@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Peter Judzewitsch

Photo-PISA

Photopolymerisation

Email: sihao.xu@unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Sihao (Henry) Xu

Quantum chemical studies of photocatalysis

Computer-guided photocatalyst design

Photoredox catalysis

Homepage      Google Scholar       Email: chenyu.wu@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate; web admin

Chenyu Wu

High-throughput photopolymerisation in open-air

Google Scholar      Email: g.b.ng@unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Gervase Ng

Photo-PISA

Photopolymerisation

Email: tong.zhang3@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Tong (Tony) Zhang

Photo-flow polymerisation

Complex architecture polymers

Email: huijie.zhu@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Huijie Zhu

Antimicrobial polymers

Email: erna.wulandari@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Erna Wulandari

Industrial projects

Email: p.sapkota@student.unsw.edu.au

Scientia PhD

Prabal Sapkota

Photocatalyst

Photosensitisation

Biological materials

Email: liwen.zhang3@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Liwen Zhang

Photopolymerisation

Photocatalyst

Email: zilong.wu@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD candidate

Zilong Wu

Bio-related materials

Email: thithuphuong.pham@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD student

Thi Thu Phuong Pham

Photo-curing 3D printing

Email: z5243295@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD student

Zhiheng (Michael) Zhang

PhD student

Ke (Lance) Liu

Antimicrobial materials

Email: junchen.he@student.unsw.edu.au

PhD student

Junchen (Cliff) He

Coursework students

If you are interested in completing research with the Boyer Lab as part of your Honours or Masters degree, please contact
Prof Cyrille Boyer.
Email: cboyer@unsw.edu.au

 

Photopolymerisation

Photoredox catalysis/Flow polymerization

Email: 

Masters coursework student

Leonid Zhernakov

 

Antimicrobial polymers

High-throughput photopolymerisation

Email: lily.zhao@student.unsw.edu.au

Honours student

Lily Zhao